Host: Nagasaki University School of Medicine Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences and Julius-Maximilians-Universität Würzburg Medical Faculty Graduate School of Life Sciences

The 1st joint symposium between Nagasaki University and Würzburg University
—To found Japanese-German Graduate Externship—



Special Lecture: Shunichi Yamashita, Trustee and Vice-President, Nagasaki University

Venue: Nagasaki University School of Medicine 2016

May 12 (Thu), 13:00 ~ Bauduin Lecture Hall, Ryojun Auditorium 2F May 13 (Fri), 9:00 ~ Main seminar room, Global Health General Research Building 1F

Graduating from Universität Würzburg, Philipp Franz von Siebold came to Nagasaki in 1823, and introduced various Western cultures including the state-of-art medicine to Japan under the closed country policy except Dejima island opening to the West. Reflecting on the relations, the presidents of Nagasaki University and Universität Würzburg agreed to start medical student exchange in 1996. Since then, the academic cooperation between us has continued and expanded to graduate student and faculty member levels. To strengthen our partnership, we are to found Japanese-German Graduate Externship. This symposium is the first step to achieve the goal.



http://www.med.nagasaki-u.ac.jp/medura/







The 1st joint symposium between Nagasaki University and Würzburg University

To found Japanese-German Graduate Externship

Thursday, May 12, 2016 (in the Bauduin Lecture Hall, Ryojun Auditorium 2F)

Opening remarks (13:00~13:30)

Shigeru Katamine, President of Nagasaki University

Isao Shimokawa, Dean, Nagasaki University School of Medicine & Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences

Matthias Frosch, Dean, Faculty of Medicine, Würzburg University

Special Lecture (13:30~14:00)

Shunichi Yamashita, Trustee and Vice-President, Nagasaki University

Title: Comprehensive Health Risk Management after the Fukushima Nuclear Power Plant Accident

Chair: Koichiro Yoshiura

Session 1. Neuropsychiatry (14:00~16:00)

Chair: Hiroki Ozawa / Ryoma Kayano & Jürgen Deckert

Speaker · Title:

Hiroki Ozawa / Ryoma Kayano • Nutrition and psychiatry in 5D: Depression, Delusion, Developmental disorder, Dementia and Disaster

Naohiro Kurotaki • The molecular analysis of psychiatric diseases based on common disease - rare variant hypothesis

Michael Sendtner · Subcellular neurotrophic signaling for neuronal differentiation and maintenance

Jürgen Deckert · Individualized medicine for depression and anxiety

Jens Volkmann · Advances in neuromodulation for treating brain network disorders

Nobutaka Horie · Stem Cell Transplantation for Experimental Stroke

Session 2. Hematology and Oncology (16:15~18:15)

Chair: Tomoko Hata & Christoph Reiners

Speaker • Title:

Hermann Einsele · Hematopoetic Tumors

Yoshitaka Imaizumi · Adult T-cell leukemia

Thorsten Bley · CT and MR imaging strategies for assessing multiple myeloma

Takahiro Higuchi · Targeted Molecular PET imaging

Takuya Yamazaki • Radiotherapy in Nagasaki University Hospital

Minoru Fukuda · Chemoradiotherapy in Thoracic Oncology

Friday May 13, 2016 (in the Main seminar room, Global Health General Research Building 1F)

Session 3. Cardiovascular medicine (9:00∼10:40)

Chair: Koji Maemura & Süleyman Ergün

Speaker · Title:

Naomasa Makita · Genome-Wide Approaches to Identify Genetic Risks of Sudden Death in an Inherited Arrhythmia,

Brugada Syndrome

Brenda Gerull · Genetics of Arrhythmogenic Cardiomyopathy

Masamichi Eguchi • Comprehensive Searching for Circulating mircoRNAs as a Novel Biomarker for Pulmonary Arterial

Hypertension

Süleyman Ergün · Vascular adventitial stem and progenitor cells

Takashi Kudo • Nuclear Cardiology: Beyond perfusion distribution

Closing remark (10:40~10:45)

Isao Shimokawa, Dean, Nagasaki University School of Medicine & Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences

Participants from Nagasaki University

Name	Affiliation
Kazuto Ashizawa	Professor of Department of Clinical Oncology
Masamichi Eguchi	Instructor of Department of Cardiovascular Medicine
Minoru Fukuda	Associate Professor of Clinical Oncology Center
Tomoko Hata	Associate Professor of Department of Hematology, Atomic Bomb Disease Institute
Nobutaka Horie	Senior Assistant Professor of Department of Neurosurgery
Yoshitaka Imaizumi	Senior Assistant Professor of Department of Hematology, Atomic Bomb Disease Institute
Shigeru Katamine	President, Nagasaki University
Ryoma Kayano	Department of Neuropsychiatry, The technical officer at WHO Centre for Health
	Development, Japan
Takashi Kudo	Professor of Department of Radioisotope Medicine, Atomic Bomb Disease Institute
Naohiro Kurotaki	Associate Professor of Department of Neuropsychiatry
Yuko Kusumoto	Department of Neuropsychiatry
Tao-sheng Li	Professor of Department of Stem Cell Biology, Atomic Bomb Disease Institute
Koji Maemura	Professor of Department of Cardiovascular Medicine
Naomasa Makita	Professor of Department of Molecular Physiology
Hiroki Ozawa	Professor of Department of Neuropsychiatry
Isao Shimokawa	Dean, Nagasaki University School of Medicine
	Dean, Nagasaki University Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences
Yukiomi Tsuji	Senior Assistant Professor of Department of Molecular Physiology
Masataka Uetani	Professor of Department of Radiology
Shunichi Yamashita	Trustee and Vice-President, Nagasaki University
Takuya Yamazaki	Assistant Professor of Department of Radiology
Koichiro Yoshiura	Professor of Department of Human Genetics, Atomic Bomb Disease Institute

Participants from Würzburg University

Name	Affiliation
Thorsten Bley	Professor and Chair, Department of Radiology
Jürgen Deckert	Professor and Chair, Department of Psychiatry, Center of Mental Health
Hermann Einsele	Vice-President, Würzburg University and
	Professor and Chair, Department of Internal Medicine II, Comprehensive Cancer Center
Süleyman Ergün	Professor and Chair, Institute of Anatomy
Matthias Frosch	Dean, Faculty of Medicine, Würzburg University and Professor and Chair, Institute of
	Microbiology
Brenda Gerull	Professor of Cardiology, Comprehensive Heart Failure Center
Takahiro Higuchi	Professor of Nuclear Medicine
Andreas Mettenleiter	Lecturer, Institute for the History of Medicine
Christoph Reiners	Former Medical Director and Professor of Nuclear Medicine
Michael Sendtner	Professor and Chair, Institute of Neurobiology
Jens Volkmann	Professor and Chair, Department of Neurology